The 99th edition of the Volta a Catalunya starts next Monday with a mountainous out-and-back race in Calella to finish on Sunday 31 March with a hilly criterium in Barcelona. The battle for GC probably boils down to high altitude finishes on the third and fourth day of action, respectively in Vallter 2000 and La Molina.

Team Sky:
Egan Bernal, Chris Froome, Iván Sosa, Christian Knees, Sebastián Henao, Jhonatan Narváez, Pavel Sivakov, Iván Sosa

Stage 3

“The most important thing is to try and do our best and then see how far it could bring us. We took some time on Valverde today, but in the first group there are still some really good riders like Nairo, Yates, Dan Martin – so of course it”s going to be difficult, but we will try.

“Tomorrow is another hard and important stage and we then we will try to attack again.”

Stage 4 

“We tried to do a really hard stage with the guys. The whole team did a really good job. In the final, we started to pull hard on the first part of the climb because we knew that was the steepest. I attacked, but I think that the responsibility was with the best-placed rider (Yates) to control.”

“It was a little bit crazy because there were a lot of attacks. I tried to control a little bit but in the final, you need to be calm. When Lopez attacked, Yates was strong but he didn’t close the gap. I just followed him because it was his responsibility in the final.”

Stage one result
1. Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) 4:14:32
2. Max Schachmann (BOra Hansgrohe) +2:38
3. Grega Bole (Bahrain Merida) +2’42”
4. Michael Matthews  (Team Sunweb)  s.t.
5. Mikel Bizkarra (Euskadi Basque Country – Murias) s.t.

8. Egan Bernal (Team Sky) s.t.

Stage two result:

1. Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) 4:09:34
2. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) s.t.
3. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)
4. Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-Hansgrohe)
5. Odd Christian Eiking (Wanty-Gobert)
12. Egan Bernal (Team Sky)

Stage three result:

1. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) 5:02:18
2. Egan Bernal (Team Sky) s.t.
3. Dan Martin (UAE-Team Emirates)
4. Nairo Quintana (Movistar)
5. Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) +2″

Stage four result:

1. Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) 4:02:07
2. Gregor Muhlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe) +16″
3. Marc Soler (Movistar) s.t.
4. Egan Bernal (Team Sky)
5. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)

Overall standings:

1. Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) 17:31:05
2. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) +14″
3. Egan Bernal (Team Sky) +17″
4. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) +25″
5. Dan Martin (UAE-Team Emirates) +46″